Roundtable discussions in Municipality of Drenas and Skenderaj - Preventing and Combating Violent Extremism through youth and community engagement

During this week, Kosovar Centre for Security Studies (KCSS) has organized two roundtable discussions, one in the Municipality of Drenas and Municipality of Skenderaj as part of the project “Preventing and Combating Violent Extremism through Youth and Community engagement” supported by the Netherlands Embassy in Kosovo.

The panel in Municipality of Drenas was composed by: Mr. Ramiz Lladrovci, Mayor of Municipality of Drenas; Mrs. Shqipe Broqi, Ministry of Education, Science and Technology (MEST) and Mr. Skender Perteshi, Program Manager at KCSS

Whereas, present in the roundtable discussion in Municipality of Skenderaj were: Mr. Bekim Latifi, Director of Education Directorate in Municipality of Skenderaj; Mr. Mentor Vrajolli, Senior Researcher at KCSS and moderated by Mrs. Vese Kelmendi, KCSS.

Part of this meeting were: municipal stakeholders, representatives of village councils of the Municipality of Drenas and Skenderaj, representatives of Local Councils, teachers, representatives from the local youth council and civil society organizations.

According to the participant’s key issues that national level should be focused is the empowerment of young people by creating more space for cultural, art and sports activities because they can express their ideas and be part of the community. Furthermore, the role of professors, teachers and parents is crucial on preventing and identifying risks from violent extremism. Moreover, it was highlighted the improvement of the quality of education in Kosovo. These meetings aim to facilitate the dialogues between the community and the institutions that are part of the strategy for preventing violent extremism leading to terrorism.

These activities are organized in the framework of the project “Preventing and Countering Violent Extremism in Kosovo through Youth and Community Engagement” supported by the Embassy of the Kingdom of Netherlands in Kosovo and is being implemented in six municipalities: Mitrovica, Lipjan, Prishtina, Skenderaj, Obiliq and Drenas.